A short story   Leave a comment

I almost didn’t get this post in. I planned on writing it yesterday but when I sat down I decided to do a bit on my sequel first. It started to flow and I got six pages in. Six pages is a lot for me. If I could do that every day I would have the book done in a couple of months. Anyway the reason I didn’t have a lot of time today is I had to have a Cardiac Stress test. No reason for it the doctor just figured it had been five years since my last one. I wanted to take it easy for the day but didn’t want to miss a weekly post on the first week, so I decided that I would put a short story I wrote a long time ago. I am proud of this story, not because it is a very good story. I am proud of it because it was an exercise with a group of writers. We all had to write down a few characters and a plot. These were put in a hat and each person would draw a character from one hat and a plot from another. The character I drew was named Toad, who lived in a hole and ate bugs. The plot was an alien invasion of Earth. I am proud because I was able to make anything of that. It may not be a very good story but it is a coherent story and that was enough for me. It is completely different than what I usually write. That story follows.

 

TOAD’S TALE

BY Kevin G. Cox

Johnking83@aol.com

 

Toad lived in a very comfortable hole in the ground. It was on the grounds of the aquarium, in front of the director’s home. He had a conch shell roof and mother of pearl walls. His furniture was extremely comfortable. He had designed it all himself. He was a handy little pixie. Toad was a pixie prince. In fact, he was the “Prince of Shells” Protector of all shellfish and heir to the pixie throne. His mother would never tell why she had named him Toad. She was always a bit of a hippie and Toad often wondered if his father may have been an amphibian.

Toad was napping in his sand crab form after a lunch of sautéed beetles and worms. Sautéed beetles were his favorite lunch. He awoke to loud knocking at his door.

“Hold on I’m coming.”

“It is I Shelldon the sand crab my Prince.”

Toad hurried to the door. From Shelldon’s tone he felt something must be terribly wrong. Shelldon was Toad’s best friend and would usually only speak so formally at court. Shelldon rushed in as the door opened.

“My Prince it’s terrible, what are we going to do? It’s the worst thing ever.”

“Shelldon calm down, tell me what’s wrong.”

“Didn’t you hear? It’s all over the news.”

“What’s all over the news?”

“The Earth is being invaded by creatures from space.”

“If this is a joke it isn’t funny. You woke me from a nice dream.”

“It is not a joke My Prince. The worst part is what they want from us.”

“What do they want?”

“They eat only lobster and they want all the world’s lobsters. If we don’t hand the lobsters over they will destroy the earth and everything on it.”

Toad reeled back. This was the worst news possible. Toad knew at once he could not allow these creatures to take all the lobsters. Not only was he the protector of all shellfish, even his girlfriend was a lobster. Libbie lived in the aquarium. She was a yellow lobster. She preferred to be called golden. Toad always had a soft spot for blondes. Libbie and Toad had been together for almost a year ever since she arrived from Florida.

“The humans are meeting; they don’t have the strength to fight the Scorpions. They may allow them to take the lobsters.”

“Scorpions?”

“That’s what they are calling them. They are from a star in the constellation Scorpio. “

“Oh, what about the supreme council?”

“They are meeting now.”

“I shall speak before the council. Shelldon guard my home. “

“With my life Prince Toad.”

Toad changed into his Pixie form flew into the air and vanished in a puff of smoke.”

He reappeared just in front of the golden doors of the Supreme Council’s chambers. The ogre guards bowed and opened the doors for him.

As he entered he could hear Ironheart Stonebody, King of the Dwarves say, “Then it is agreed that we have no choice. As terrible as it is we have to acquiesce to their demands.”

Toad shouted, “NEVER”, as he strode to the center of the room.

He turned to look at each of the Kings and Queens sitting in their Thrones along the chamber walls. There was King Stonebody at the head of the room, it being the Dwarves turn to preside over the council. He saw his mother, Queen Peri Papillon of the Pixies, King Oberon Thistledown of the Woodland Elves, King Nac Mac Faelan of the Leprechauns, Queen Luna Sapphire of the fairies, Queen Laurel Aideen of the Witches and King Aisling Magnus of the Wizards. Torca king of the Trolls and Almondeye King of the Ogres was also present; they were non-voting members since their only magic was brute strength.

Toad bowed to the assembled royals and said, “I can’t believe this great assembly would bow to the demands of creatures from beyond this star and surrender a whole species to them. Are we not the protectors of the Earth and all the creatures upon it, above it and beneath it? Do we so easily renounce our sworn vows and abandon them to their fate. If another should come and demand the pixies, the elves or any of you should we just turn our backs and give over your lives. I say NEVER. I shall always resist. We have to keep our sworn vows if we are to mean anything in this or any world.”

King Stonebody stood, “Toad we understand and agree, but we have no way of defeating them. Little of our magic is violent. We would not stand a chance and in trying to save the lobsters we could lose the whole world. It is a painful decision, yet what else can we do?”

Toad stood tall, “I have a plan it may not work, but at least hear me out and consider it.”

The members of the Supreme Council crowded close as Toad presented his plan.”

The next day when Toad returned home he was greeted by Shelldon, “The invaders have left My Prince isn’t it wonderful? The lobsters are safe. How did you do it?”

“I explained to the Supreme Council that if all magical creatures worked together we had great power. It may not be violent power that can win a war, however it is powerful nonetheless.”

Shelldon said, “If the power wasn’t enough to win, how did we win.”

“All magic users on earth cast the same spell at the same time. It made for one incredibly powerful force. We couldn’t do them harm. but we could change what they could eat.”

“How could you trade one creature’s life for another? I am only a small sand crab yet that seems wrong. What animal are they eating now?”

“Dandelions, you know the way dandelions grow. You can’t get rid of them if you try. We gave them ten million dandelions. We got them from one block in the suburbs.”

Shelldon shook his head, “And that’s all you gave them”

Toad laughed, “Just that and a dandelion cook book. The scorpions will never starve again; the lobsters and the world are safe. It all worked out. I have to go I have a date with Libbie.”

 

As I said not a great story but a story and it filled up a blog post.

Posted January 20, 2017 by kevingcox in Random Thoughts

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

