Catching up   Leave a comment

Jan 2014 Cruise28
I just thought before I start with more stories both from The 83 and Red Hook I should catch up with what I have been doing.
As you saw in my last post my book is finally out on Lulu.com and it is doing better than I expected. I have been doing readings at the Beach House Beanery, a local Coffee House on the beach. The readings are on the third Tuesday of every month. We get a pretty diverse crowd of presenters everything from poets to magicians. I have had a local playwright take three of my little stories and turn them into a short play to be performed by colleges. In my book I tried to show what it was like to work the streets in the 83 in the 70’s. I am now starting my next book “Red Hook Memories” it will be about growing up in Red Hook in the 50’s and 60’s. In this one I want to show that Red Hook despite it’s reputation was like a small town in the city. Everyone knew everyone and we were like a big family. It is a time that has gone by but should never be forgotten. It will be a novel like the first book but this I hope will be a coming of age story. It will start with a very short prologue of the father’s coming home from World War Two. Then I plan on showing the kids around 9 or 10 years old. The next piece will have them at about 13. The last piece will show them at 16-17. I would like to show the changes in them and in Red Hook as they grow older. Although the Red Hook from the late 50’s to the late 60’s didn’t change too much. The big changes came in the 1970’s and 80’s none of us back then would have ever expected it to change so suddenly. I hope to do the old neighborhood justice. It was a great place to grow up.

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

