Bazaar   8 comments

VisitationSpring is here and it got me thinking of the Visitation Bazaar. I remember waiting for the school bell to ring and watching them put up the booths and rides. The excitement knowing that it would soon be done, but not soon enough.
It was like Christmas but instead of all the presents out on Christmas morning. We would have to watch one present a day be put out for weeks and we couldn’t touch them until the gates opened.
When the bazaar officially open we would get a half day of school. That morning no matter how hard they tried the nuns could teach us nothing. We watched the clock and planned what we would do when the bell rang.
When we walked through that gate it was magic. I can close my eyes and see the place to this day. The Ferris Wheel towering over us as we walked through the gates. The whip was to the right, the merry-go-round to the left. I can feel the oiled gravel beneath my feet. To the left by the convent was the food stand. hamburgers, hot dogs, cotton candy and chow mien on a bun. I can still smell it.
My father spinning the wheel at the dice booth to the left of the gate. Father Maroney walking around keeping all the kids in check. I remember seeing the nuns on the rides laughing and smiling almost like people. To us the nuns back then weren’t people, they were nuns. It was good to see another side of them.
It was a different world back then. The kids today would never be as excited as we were over something so small. They want Disney World we were satisfied with so little. We didn’t have much so we were so easy to please. I don’t know if any of us realized how little we had, or how much. I’m glad I was a kid back then. My memories are of small intimate joys not huge commercial impersonal ones. All those laughing around us were friends and family not strangers.
I think next time I will write about Rye Beach Boat rides.

Posted April 12, 2013 by kevingcox in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

8 responses to “Bazaar

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You Took me back!!! I now can smell it, see it in my mind, and hear all the happy noises.

    Karen (Lolly Cox) Slusser
  2. Did not take much to make us happy.

  3. Thanks Kevin… That was me next to you in class, smiling impatiently too! Well written time machine!

  4. Hey Kevin, ya did it again Bud. Great memories! Yeah, it was a sweeter time, one I always will treasure. While I’m a big fan of Disney and all the other big biz parks, nothing will take the place of the feelings I remember having watching that Bazaar going up!!

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

