St. Patrick’s Day Memories   7 comments

StPatricks-Well St. Patrick’s Day is almost here and I was remembering the way it was way back when. My father’s mother and her thick County Mayo brogue. When he was young my father’s nickname was Buddy but with my Grandmother it came out Putty and that’s the name that stuck. I can remember the stories from my mother’s side of the family of ancestors being smuggled out of Ireland in coffins. Due to death sentences placed on them for resisting the crown. Many Red Hook families shared tales and songs of Ireland.

The Irish are known as Warrior Poets. Warrior because they will fight for a thousand years if they think their cause is just. Poets because they speak from their hearts and an Irish heart is always full even when their bellies are empty, maybe more so then.

I remember watching the parade on TV with Capt. Jack McCarthy announcing it as he did every year. He was to St. Patrick’s Day back then as Guy Lombardo was to New Year’s Eve. I think soon I will write a blog on the forgotten children’s TV hosts and shows from back then. All you hear about are the Howdy Doody Show and Captain Kangaroo. But I digress, I write stream of consciousness or as some would say in my case unconsciousness.

Back to St. Patrick’s Day memories, the parties were all over the neighborhood. It never took much for a party to start in The Hook. Many a glass and voice were raised to “Danny Boy.” Many a tear shed too.

I also can remember the plays, Visitations St. Patrick’s Day Play. Everyone dancing a jig, singing all the Irish songs and those damn kilts. Both sides of my family came from Ireland but I could never get used to those kilts. In March on the spiral staircase to the stage, the boys knew how the girls felt in December. But I don’t know if the girls enjoyed it as much as the boys.

So raise a glass to days gone by but memories that still survive.  Slainte.

Posted March 14, 2013 by kevingcox in Random Thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

7 responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Memories

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can still here all the songs in my Head and Heart!! We grew up to be Proud of our Irish Heritage. In Red Hook everyone was Irish on Saint Patty’s Day!!! The Plays were wonderful and I loved the spiral staircase. Danny Boy is my favorite Irish song and we had many Great Tenors in Red Hook. I will be hearing and seeing in my Mind and Heart all the Great Memories you have brought back for me. Thank you my Brother I Love and Miss You, Lolly

    Karen (Lolly Cox) Slusser
  2. I can’t spell in the first sentice it should be hear not here. Sorry it has been a Long Day at Work

    Karen (Lolly Cox) Slusser
  3. Why didn’t you tell us these stories growing up. I really cant wait to read your book Dad. I wish you all the best with the book.

    Chrissy Cox Spidle
  4. Kevin,I remember St Patrick’s Day in Red Hook very fondly. From Jack McCarthy slowly getting a little tipsy as the parade went on, to the plays @ Visitation. In fact I sang on stage for the very first time when Sister Alice Jose insisted that I could sing “Come Back To Erin” in the 3B. Great job as usual,you have a wonderful gift!

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

