About my book   6 comments

83 pct I haven’t posted anything in a while. I was away on a cruise.  I am taking another class and in this one I had to write a query. That’s sort of a short spiel to see if you can get anyone interested in your book. So here is the one I wrote for the class. I also have to write synopsis of the book with all the major events since the books has few major events but many minor ones that may be a problem but I will get something done. Anyway here it is let me know what you think.

The year is 1976 and Ken is 26 years old. Ken grew up in the Red Hook. He is now a street cop in the 83 Precinct. The strangest precinct in the city of New York. In headquarters it was considered a cross between a Foreign Legion outpost and a leper colony.

The story begins on New Year’s Eve and encompasses one year ending and completing the circle on New Year’s Eve 1977. The last notes of Guy Lombardo’s Auld Lang Syne fade away. The crowd flees Times Square leaving only their trash and vomit.

Ken and his squad head back to Brooklyn to the 83 to where they belong. The new year ahead waits for them. They will patrol some of the toughest streets in the country. They say that most cops never draw their weapons on duty. In the 83 most have shot at least one person. This story covers that year. The strange characters who hang around a ghetto police precinct both civilians and cops. The calls for service that run the gamut from slapstick to tragedy. There will be events that border on the paranormal and  others straight out of a Steven King novel. Other events seem written for the Three Stooges. Sometimes the stooges are civilians other times not.  Ken and his squad will experience the endings of old loves and the beginnings of new ones. There will be parties and funerals. In the end they will be back at Times Square to end the year and start another. The mayors, commissioners and chiefs come and go but the cops go on forever.

Posted January 19, 2013 by kevingcox in Random Thoughts

Tagged with , , , ,

6 responses to “About my book

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a book that i would be interested in reading. Good start…you have my interest peaked. Good writing ahead!

    • Thank you. I haven’t decided whether or not I will seek to have it published yet. Right now I am writing it for myself. I will think more about publishing when I get it done. I do appreciate the comment.

  2. Are you intentionally not being specific in detailing an event[s] ?I do not mean identifying people, but rather identifying details- nice, or ugly!

    jackshack1013@cfl.rr.com
  3. Kevin you are doing great I wish I could write I’m sure you will have a best seller. Most of us who have worked a long time in an “A” house have the story the hard part is to put it in order on paper. PS your last line, I use to sayCaptains come and go, but it’s the Cops that have to deal with it after they(The Captains) are gone. My problem is I told this to a Captain once and He did not like it! Oh well he left two months later.

    • Frank, That last line was told to me by a Captain. The same Captain who said that headquarters told him the 83 was a cross between a foreign legion outpost and a leper colony. He was a great boss not the ordinary C.O.

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

