Red Hook Life   7 comments

Thanksgiving is almost here and I was thinking about how it was in the Hook. I can still see Father Maroney going around collecting for Thanksgiving baskets. Each basket would have everything needed for a family to have a real Thanksgiving Dinner. My family never had a real lot but my mother always found money to donate enough to supply a basket for someone. The whole thing would be repeated for Christmas. In the 1950’s and 60’s life in Red Hook revolved around Visitation Church and Christ Chapel. You could tell the season by the churches. We had the St. Patrick’s Day plays and the Christmas season plays. The Bazaar would come in as the school year was ending. The Rye beach boat rides for the summer. In the fall school started.  Visitation Place would be crowded and noisy with kids running around but as soon as the first bell rang the noise stopped. On the second bell lines would form faster than a Company of Marines could fall in. Straighter too. You hear now of kids getting out of college who can’t read. In Visitation a kid couldn’t get out of the third grade if he or she couldn’t read. I guess all thing change in time. The school is gone. Christ Chapel is no longer. There are now apartments where the bazaar thrilled us. Maybe not everything has changed. I read the people of Red Hook came together in the wake of Hurricane Sandy. Working to help each other. Maybe it is something left behind by all the good solid souls who lived and died together and called Red Hook home. There is a new crowd now but the spirit of the Point is still going strong. May those new Pointers someday feel about it as we do.

Posted November 21, 2012 by kevingcox in Random Thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

7 responses to “Red Hook Life

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Holidays always remind us of home and what we had in our youth those that loved us and those we loved.. Now our kids are collecting their memories and the life cycle moves forward.

  2. I smell Momma’s Cooking!!!

    Karen (Lolly Cox) Slusser
    • If I close my eyes I can see the old kitchen. I remember times when we had tables out in the hall for extra people. I am sure a lot of families did things like that back then. No one went hungry in the Hook.

  3. Another great look at a time long gone. Happy Thanksgiving Kev. I really enjoy your outlook. By the way,do you remember the ragamuffins going aroung on Thanksgiving morn asking”Anything For Thanksgiving”

  4. Yes, I do remember them. They were the only kids I ever saw going around for Thankgiving. When I mentioned it to my mother she said when she was a kid it was done.

  5. Hello Kevin this is Skinny’s daughter Mary Anne. Your lovely sister Lolly used to babysit me and I love all of your family and the memories of my childhood with them. I am following your blog,please follow mine as I try to add my
    Childhood stories into it every now and then. Good luck to you on your writing journey!

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

