Childhood Friends   17 comments

Many friends pass through our life as we go on. Some come and go and are forgotten. This is not about those. This is about the friends of our childhood. The guys and girls we hung out with in grade school and high school. Mostly unrelated but some family. They are the ones who etch their way not only into our hearts but into our souls. They are the ones that after not seeing each other for 10, 20, 30 years will still bring a smile to our face when we think of them. They are the ones we shared our dreams of the future with. They were the ones who consoled us and teased us when our first true forever love lasted only a month. Consoling and teasing were pretty much part of the same package back then. We taught each other what friends are. We played together and learned of life together. We achieved together and made mistakes together. More mistakes than achievements but always together. More mistakes than achievements but always together. We will have many friends but no more like this. As time goes on some will pass away and take a piece of us with them. To those I dedicate this. I miss you Ritchie or as we called you Herman. The funniest person I ever knew. Billy our movie maker and artist, you where always different and incredibly talented. And to you Tony, You always had it tough but never complained. You all left us too young. To those who remain Buddy, Johnny, Billy, Jimmy, Joe, Robert, Roddy, Franny, Larry and Bill. To the girls Lolly, Lulu, Linda, Sue, Marie and the rest I wish the best for all of you. I hope you all know you will always be in my heart. So take time to remember the friends of your childhood today and smile. They will always be with you.
Posted November 13, 2012 by kevingcox in Random Thoughts

Tagged with ,

17 responses to “Childhood Friends

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is Beautiful and I did smile!

    Karen (Lolly Cox) Slusser
  2. awww…you made me all teary eyed!! That was nice and true, I value my friends even though we hardly get to see each other…miss ya

  3. That was beautiful and sweet, we may not have hung out with the came “Click” but my sentiments are similar… Man have passed, some lost inside themelves, never to be found sad but true, and some of you are still kickin ash! Yeah! Tough people with heart spirit and soul and alotta LOVE! Lucille Fraser Longo/Kenneke/Suarez/FRASER! lol!

    • Lucy, I meant that for all of us. We may have had different friends but those from our childhood become embedded in our souls. You will always have a smile when you remember yours and I with mine. Different friends same smiles.

  4. Great stuff Kev. You have a real talent for expressing what a lot of people feel . I remember growing up with Georgie Baker ,John Browne,Johnny Valente Richie Bullen,and the girls, Mary Lou Bowring ,Marie Kitcher, Marlene and Lucille Leist . I think of all my childhood friends and often wonder, how they’re doing and what life brought them! Please keep this blog going. It really makes me smile (and mabe a little tear or two)!

  5. Hi Kevin! Another great story to add to your blog! I loved it, and it is so true about our Red Hook friends. Thanks to facebook, I was able to reconnect with so many of our Red Hook friends. Your story is great and it really does describe the feelings we all have for each other. There is such a tender, sentimental feeling I will always have for my Red Hook friends. To this day, my closest girlfriends are three girls from Dikeman St….we never lost touch all these years and we are as close as sisters. By the way, my brother Jimmy loves your blog and asked me to continue to send him any more stories you write. You have brought back wonderful memories for all of us. Thank you, Kevin.

    Kathy Murray Olson
  6. Thanks Kathy, I really don’t know what to say. When I started this I thought I was going to be the only one who liked it. I am amazed and humbled by the reaction so far. Thank you again.

  7. You could not have said it better. A job well done.

  8. Thank you.

  9. Proud of you Kev.We were baby buddies because of our moms.Nice to know sixty odd years later we still are… NIGHT OWLS… Rob

  10. AWW, I REMEMBER “NIGHT OWLS” , THE FUN WE HAD AND THE TROUBLE WE COULD HAVE GOTTEN IN. YOU GUYS WERE CRAZY. THANKS FOR THE RE-MEMORIES. WE WERE LIKE EXTENDED FAMILY. AND NO MATTER HOW MANY YEARS GO BY, WHEN WE GET TOGETHER WE GO ON LIKE WE JUST SAW EACH OTHER YESTERDAY. HOW MANY PEOPLE CAN SAY THAT. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

  11. What trouble? We were angels. We would never have done anything that could be trouble.

Leave a Reply

Marion Harmon, A Writer in Vegas.

Just another WordPress.com site

Aethereal Engines

Stories of Imaginative and Speculative Fiction by Jason H. Abbott

Michael Ray King

Book Coach, Award-winning Author, Motivational Speaker

ELICITZ OF LIFE

My Elicits, an Inception... Learning to Live in Perfection

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Rolling on the Floor laughing !!!

Smile :) >> You’re at The Best and Funniest Rofl Blog Ever

borough of lost boys

creative non-fiction. pursuit of truth.

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Eagle's Nest

The Everything, Nothing, Something, Anything, My Thing weblog

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Christ! Xmas

all about Christmas and Santa.

Blood Mass

They kill at night then hide in the day.

Whisper As You Wander

Finding angels,fairies,and the wonders of New York City

chefjoshs

deep thoughts by chef josh

mindiarrhea

Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar

kellyjeanholmes

An Un-Authorized Manual

Life Without Bullshit

The raw truth is like sushi for the soul...it's healthy for ya!

